Skip to Content

Hortman elected Speaker of the Minnesota State House

ST. PAUL, MN — Rep. Melissa Hortman has been elected Speaker of the Minnesota House of Representatives.

Hortman, a democrat representing the Coon Rapids area near the Twin Cities, was chosen during a roll-call style vote on the opening day of the 2019 Minnesota Legislative Session.

Democrats hold a majority in the Minnesota House, while Republicans hold a slight majority in the Senate.

Briggs LeSavage

Skip to content